Mercury Rules

Mercury is the most prestigious award in travel catering world wide, sought after by the best and most pro-active companies in the industry.
Enter your product, service or system and compete for a Mercury, the truly global recognition of excellence in our business.
The Mercury committee wishes you and your company a successful entry.

Please study the rules carefully as changes have happened to previous years.

1. Participation

The competition is exclusively open to any Company providing goods or services to enhance the onboard service of the passenger transportation industry.

2. Categories

Category 1: On Board Service
This category may be split into – Air, Rail and Sea.
In this event each will become a category of its own with a winner like all other categories.
These categories are for the entry of concepts that enhance the quality of onboard service. The entry should include service procedures and any combination of elements i.e. equipment, food and beverages, interior furnishings, entertainment systems etc.

Category 2: Food or Beverage
This category is for taste. All entries will be tasted at the judging. It is for the entry of food and/or beverage products.

Category 3: Equipment
This category is for the entry of all types of equipment that promote and enhance the overall service within the industry. This category may be split into two – Heavy and Light with two Mercurys to be won. This will be at the discretion of the Mercury Committee.

Category 4: Skills Development
This category is for the entry of educational and/or training processes, systems and products, which enhance internal and/or external customer services.

Category 5: Systems and Process Development
This category is for the entry of Information Systems or other processes that improve efficiency, quality and customer satisfaction.

Category 6: Inspirations
This is for what might only be an idea but one which, if developed, would enhance passenger satisfaction. The idea must be presented giving as much detail as possible and it is hoped that someone will assist the entrant to bring the idea to market.

Category 7: Environment
This award is for the entry that most benefits the environment. The fundamentals of Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) are also embraced by this category.

Entries must be entered in any category 1 – 6 and will be entered into this category provided you mark your entry “Also for Environment Award”. The entry will then be judged in both categories.

3. Limits

Each entry must be entered separately, in ONE company name and only ONE contact name.

4. Commercial use

It is NOT mandatory for entries to have been in Commercial use in our industry. No Prototypes will be allowed – except in the ‘Inspirations’ Category. The Mercury Award Committee may request documentary proof from an existing customer to support any claims made by the entrant.

5. Fees

The entry fee is to be calculated as follows:

For entries received ITCA members Non-members
First entry £400 £500
second and subsequent entries £200 £250

(For Companies entering more than one entry the first will be charged as above and subsequent entries will be charged at 50% of the fee charged for the first entry.)

This fee will include screen and projector use for the presentation and a small display area at the ITCA Trade Show (all three days).

Fees must be paid at the time of submitting your entry. Payment details can be found on the electronic entry form.

6. Validation

All entries will be validated prior to the judging process. The Mercury Committee reserves the right to decline any entry – in any such case the entry fee will not be refunded – and to change the category entered. ITCA will endeavour to communicate any such changes by the end of September 2013.

7. Presentation

Each successful entrant will be able to occupy a maximum of 20 minutes to present their entry either in Person or by DVD / Web presentation. Entrants should provide any audio-visual material that may be required – ITCA will provide a screen and projector in the judging room.

Entrants will be allowed 40 minutes preparation time in the presentation room in advance of the pre-allocated presentation time. The allocated time will be notified to all entrants by the end of September 2013.  The judging will take place at  London Heathrow during late in October 2013 – the date and time will be communicated to you.

8. Judging Criteria

Entries will be judged on the following criteria:
- innovative
- creative
- new to industry
Quality in Application
- useful
- practical/safe
- cost effective
Internal/External Customer Satisfaction
- benefical
- easy to use
- improved service delivery

9. Weighting

In order to recognise the importance of innovation and environment the marks for these criteria will be weighted at 1.5 times the points awarded in the judging process in all categories except the Food and Beverage category.
In category 2 – Food and Beverage the points for customer satisfaction will be weighted at 1.5 times.
For example: if any entry was to be awarded 4 points for innovation, this would be weighted and count as 6 points in all except category 2, thus improving the entrant’s total score. The same would apply in category 2 for customer satisfaction.

10. Category award winners

Each category will receive one “MERCURY” for the entrant with the most points in its category.
N.B. There will be no overall winner and only one winner per category.
In the event that entries from the same category gain the same number of points, innovation – or customer satisfaction in the case of category 2 – will act as an over- rider in the decision making process.
Each MERCURY Winner will receive a Mercury statue to keep.

11. Deadline

All entries must be received electronically together with payment in full by Association Services at or via no later than 10/09/2013 17:30 hours GMT. No entries will be accepted after that.

12. Disclaimer

The judging committee reserves the right to disqualify any validated entry, when it does not comply with the rules. The decisions of the Mercury Award committee and of the Mercury judging panel are final.

13. How to enter the competition

You will find on the website step by step guidelines on entering the competition and some tips to help you on the road to being a Mercury Award winner.
See 10 tips to win Mercury

14. Entry Form
One form per entry. If you are also entering the Environment Award – see Category 7 – then you can use the same entry form for both – just tick the box to inform the judges that you wish to be included in this new category as well as the other chosen category (1 – 6).

Complete the entry form here on the website.

Only electronic entry forms are accepted.

Incomplete forms will not be accepted.


Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!

Visit our friends!

A few highly recommended friends...